Strömsholm Castle

The castle, designed by Nicodemus Tessin the Elder, was the favourite residence of several queens. Completed in 1681, it was only furnished between 1767 and 1776 and decorated in Gustavian style. During the first half of the 19C, it fell into favour with the royal family and became one of the preferred country residences. The major pictorial collection includes paintings by animal painter David Klöcker von Ehrenstrahl (1628-1698). Concerts are held in summer.

Useful information


73734 94 Kolbäck


+46 220 430 35


100 sek (-17 years old free of charge)

Opening hours

mid May-end May: weekends noon-4pm; Jun and Aug: noon-4pm; Jul: noon-5pm