The lovely romanesque nave and transept cannot prepare the visitor for the surprise awaiting them: the splendid Decorated gothic apse, the fabulous Chapel of the Virgin Mary and a 14C masterpiece, the octagon. The cathedral was begun in 1083; in 1250, the original romanesque apse was rebuilt with Purbeck marble. After the romanesque cross tower fell down in 1322, Alan of Walsingham designed the famous octagon, a triumph of medieval ingenuity.
Address:The College, CB7 4DL Ely
Phone:+44 1353 667735
7am-6.30pm (5.30pm Sun Nov-Mar) - Stained glass museum: 10.30am-5pm, Sun noon-4.30pm - Guided tour available of cathedral and/or towers, Octagon: Mon-Sat 10.30am, 11.45am, 1.15pm, 2.30pm (3.30pm Sat only), Sun 12.30pm, 1.30pm and 2.30pm; West: Sat 11.30am, 12.30pm, 1.45pm and 3pm, Sun 2pm and 3pm