Little Moreton Hall

This truly exceptional half-timbered manor house is surrounded by shallow moats. The gabled windows have retained their original 16C window panes, and precious wood panellings embellish the interior. Building work began in 1440 and was completed some 140 years later with John Moreton's Long Gallery. The Great Hall is the masterpiece. The murals beneath the breathtaking timberwork represent Destiny and Fortune. Note the painted frieze in the Parlour that depicts the story of Susanna and the Elders.

Useful information


CW12 4SD Congleton


+44 1260 272018


10.20 £ (children 5.10 £)

Opening hours

mid Feb-end Oct: Wed-Sun (daily in Aug) 11am-5pm; closed Nov; Dec-Feb telephone for timetable