Furness Abbey

The red-sandstone ruins of the abbey, destroyed during the English Reformation in the 16C, lie in an isolated valley. The walls of the transept, choir and west tower have virtually kept their original height. In the southern wall of the sanctuary, four pews and a lavabo remain. The vestibule and the chapter house, dating back to the mid-13C, show simple Cistercian elegance.

Useful information


Manor Road Barrow in Furness


+44 1229 823420


5.70 £ (children 3.40 £)

Opening hours

Apr-Nov: 10am-6pm (Oct-Nov 5pm); rest of year: weekends 10am-4pm