The present abbey was consecrated in 1932, around 900 years after its foundation during the reign of King Canute (1016-35). The new church is neo-Norman in style and follows the plan of the Cistercian house dissolved under Henry VIII. It is built in grey limestone and contrasting yellow stone from Ham Hill. The interior is in white Bath stone, crowned with a vaulted ceiling which soars 15m above the nave. An exhibition in the crypt retraces the history of the abbey.