The residence was originally (1694) a four-storey house with a pedimented and balustrade gable, built out of Ham Hill stone; it was turned into a castle in the 17C. The building houses fine collections of paintings, furniture and porcelain. The grounds were designed by Lancelot "Capability" Brown in 1776-79.
Address:New, DT9 5NR Sherborne
Apr-Oct: Tue-Thu, weekends and Bank Hol Mon 11am-4.30pm (last admission), castle: Sat 2pm-4.30pm - 10 £ (gardens only £5)