This monastery was founded in the late 7C by John of Beverley, the bishop of Hexham then York, who decided to withdraw here before his death in 721. The construction of the abbey church, as it appears today, was undertaken c 1220. The 101m-long building is almost the size of a cathedral, and combines a mix of styles: Early English (transepts), Decorated (nave) and Perpendicular Gothic (main façade).
Address:Minster Yard North, HU17 0DP Beverley
Phone:+44 1482 868540
May-Aug: 9am-5.30pm; Mar-Apr and Sep-Oct: 9am-5pm; Nov-Feb: 9am-4pm; Sun all year noon-5pm - Guided tour available by prior arrangement