Leicester Castle

The Great Hall, which dates from 1150, is now hidden behind the façade of the Law Courts, built in 1695. The Turreted Gateway (1423), gutted during riots in 1832, leads into the Newarke ("new work"), a walled extension added to the castle fortifications by Henry, Earl of Lancaster.

Useful information

Address:

Castle Yard, LE1 5WH Leicester

Phone:

+44 116 253 2569

Opening hours

[visiting: telephone for timetable]

Nearby tourist attractions

St Mary de Castro
St Mary de Castro
Leicester
0:15
Newarke Houses Museum
Newarke Houses Museum
Leicester
1:00
Jewry Wall Museum
Jewry Wall Museum
Leicester
1:00
St Nicholas Church
St Nicholas Church
Leicester
0:15
St Martin's Cathedral St Martin's Cathedral
St Martin's Cathedral
Leicester
0:30
Leicester Guildhall Leicester Guildhall
Leicester Guildhall
Leicester
0:15
See all tourist sites