Cut across by the River Skell, these Cistercian ruins provide a wonderful record of monastic life in the Middle Ages. A long row of buildings (dormitory of the brothers) extends on the right-hand side of the abbey, with no cover. Note the tower (c 1500) and magnificent Chapel of the Nine Altars (13C). The monks' quarters lie to the south. The finest vestiges are grouped around the cloister: the Chapterhouse, Refectory and Cellarium. Outside the walls stand the Guest House and the lay brothers' infirmary.
Address:HG4 3DY Ripon
Price:13 £ (children 6.50 £)
garden and abbey: Apr-Oct 10am-6pm (end Oct 5pm); early Nov-end Jan daily except Fri 10am-5pm; Feb-Mar 10am-5pm - church noon-4pm, closed Nov-Apr - deer park 7am-6pm (9pm in Summer), last admission 1hr before closing