It was founded in 1714 from the medieval foundations of Gloucester College. The original foundations are still present under the five monastic houses to the south of the main quad. The other buildings are 18 C, except for the chapel with its melodramatic 19 C interior designed by William Burges. The gardens and lake are peaceful and charming.
See all tourist sites