The caves are located at the start of the gorge. Cox's Cave was discovered in 1837 and Gough's Cave in 1890. The series of chambers follows the course of underground streams through the porous limestone. The stalagmites, stalactites, petrified falls, lace curtains and pillars are coloured according to the minerals in the limestone: rust red (iron), green (manganese) and grey (lead).
Address:BS27 3QF Cheddar
Phone:+44 1934 742343
Easter, May, Jul-Aug and school hols spring: 10am-5pm; rest of year 10.30am-5pm, last admission 30min before closing - open-top bus tour (included): daily Easter-end Sep and end Oct-mid Nov, weekends mid Feb-Easter and Oct (except on rainy days) - 3 miles/4.8 km trail (1hr30)