St Edmundsbury Cathedral
Bury Parish Church since 1530, it was dedicated to St James but changed its name when it was granted cathedral status in 1914 when it took the name of St Edmund. A perfect late Perpendicular composition of 9 bays leads the eye to the chancel and transept by Stephen Dykes Bower (1960). Note the Flemish stained-glass Susanna window (c. 1480) and the roof with carvings of angels dating from the 19C.
Address:Angel Hill, IP33 1LS Bury St Edmunds
Phone:+44 1284 748720
8.30am-6pm - guided tour May-Sep: Mon-Sat 11am (1hr)