Lacock Abbey

Interesting
To the east of the village there lies an abbey, founded in the 13C. Successive generations of Talbots added decorative features in the taste of the day: in 1753, John Ivory Talbot had the Great Hall rebuilt. In 1827-30, William Henry Fox Talbot had three oriel windows added on the south façade (the one in the centre featured in the first successful photograph, in 1835) and planted the park of exotic trees.

Useful information

Address:

SN15 2LG Lacock

Phone:

+44 1249 730459

Price:

12.10 £ (children 6 £)

Opening hours

abbey: Mar-Oct: 11am-5pm; Nov and Jan-mid Feb weekends 11.30am-3.30pm; Dec Thu-Sun 11.30am-3.30pm - cloister: mid Feb-Oct 10.30am-5.30pm; Nov-mid Feb 11am-4pm

Nearby tourist attractions

Fox Talbot Museum of Photography Fox Talbot Museum of Photography
Fox Talbot Museum of Photography
Lacock
1:30
St Cyriac's Church St Cyriac's Church
St Cyriac's Church
Lacock
0:15
High Street High Street
High Street
Lacock
0:15
Church Street Church Street
Church Street
Lacock
0:15
West Street & East Street West Street & East Street
West Street & East Street
Lacock
0:15
Corsham Court
Corsham Court
Corsham
1:30
See all tourist sites