Clifford Tower was built in the 13C by Henry III to replace the wooden fort of William the Conqueror - this was burnt down in 1190 by the people who besieged the Jews who had take refuge inside. Formerly occupied by two-storey private apartments, destroyed in the 17C, the inner courtyard is now empty.
Address:Tower Street, YO1 9SA York
Phone:+44 1904 646940
Price:4.70 £ (-15 years old 2.80 £)
end Mar-end Sep: 10am-6pm; Oct: 10am-5pm: Nov-Mar: 10am-4pm - closed 24-26 Dec and 1 Jan