The Bass

The Garioch was given to David, Earl of Huntingdon (1144-1219), the grandson of David and brother of Malcolm IV and William the Lion, who built a fortress on a high mound, known as a Bass, surrounded by a wall erected on a lower mound.

Useful information

Address:

Cemetery, AB51 Inverurie

Nearby tourist attractions

Brandsbutt Stone
Brandsbutt Stone
Inverurie
0:30
Loanhead Recumbent Stone Circle
Loanhead Recumbent Stone Circle
Daviot
0:30
Castle Fraser Castle Fraser
Castle Fraser
Dunecht
1:00