The castle, near the source of the River Don, controls a ford over the Spey Valley road via the Lecht pass. The 16C fortified house was a hunting lodge and was later turned into a garrison for government troops after the 1748 rising, at which time the lower wings and a star-shaped curtain wall were added. The castle was abandoned in the early 19C but served again from 1827 to 1831 to house troops garrisoned there to combat whisky smuggling.
Address:A 944, AB36 8YP Strathdon
Phone:+44 1975 651460
Price:5.50 £ (children 3.30 £)
Apr-Sep: daily 9.30am-5.30pm; Oct-Mar: weekends 9.30am-5.30pm - closed 25-26 Dec, 1-2 Jan