Museum of Scottish Lighthouses

The Museum of Scottish Lighthouses relates the amazing story of the northern lighthouses which protected shipping from the perils of the Scottish coast. It contains a variety of objects associated with lighthouse-keepers, but the most memorable exhibits are the huge lighthouse lenses, resembling giant pieces of Art Deco jewellery. The museum also evokes the extraordinary work by five generations of Stevensons who alone built a hundred or so lighthouses.

Useful information

Address:

Kinnaird Head - Stevenson Road, AB43 9DU Fraserburgh

Phone:

+44 1346 511022

Price:

7.70 £ (-16 years old 3.30 £)

Opening hours

Apr-Oct: 10am-5pm; rest of year: daily except Mon 10am-4.30pm - closed 23 Dec-2 Jan - guided tour (45min) at 11am, 1pm, 2pm and 3pm