The current church dates back to the 13C and was modified towards the end of the century, then enlarged in the 15C by adding a tower at the transept point and a southern lower side at the height of the choir. Remains of the 13CBenedictine church are still visible. Note the sculpted capitals and the arcade and pillars at the cross, the light green communion table of Iona marble and thecloister outside with an arcade of twin columns that is relatively unusual.
Address:Street of the Dead, PA76 6SQ Iona
Phone:+44 1681 700512
Price:7.10 £ (children 4.30 £)
Apr-Sep: 9.30am-5.30pm; Oct-Mar: 9.30am-4pm - closed 1-2 Jan and 25-26 Dec