Abbey of Holyroodhouse

The Holy Rood monastery (Saint Crucifix) was founded here in 1128 by King David the 1st shortly after the monarch had survived an attack from an enraged stag while hunting in the forest. The roof-less knave is all that remains of these formerly grandiose Abbey. It dates from the late 12 early 13C., an era which is recalled here with some beautiful detailed sculptures. Several kings of England have been buried in the royal tomb, reconstructed by Queen Victoria,

Useful information

Address:

Canongate, EH8 8DX Edinburgh

Price:

11.60 £ (children 7 £)

Opening hours

Apr-Oct: 9.30am-6pm; Nov-Mar: 9.30am-4.30pm - closed 25-26 Dec and royal visits

Nearby tourist attractions

Palace of Holyroodhouse Palace of Holyroodhouse
Palace of Holyroodhouse
Edinburgh
1:30
Scottish Parliament Scottish Parliament
Scottish Parliament
Edinburgh
0:30
Our Dynamic Earth
Our Dynamic Earth
Edinburgh
1:00
Canongate
Canongate
Edinburgh
0:30
Canongate Church
Canongate Church
Edinburgh
0:15
Museum of Edinburgh - Huntly House
Museum of Edinburgh - Huntly House
Edinburgh
1:00
See all