After Burns' father died, the family moved to Mossgiel Farm. Burns met and married a local girl, Jean Armour, in Mauchline. She gave him nine children. In 1788, Burns rented rooms in a Castle Street house that is today the Burns House Museum. Four Burns children and The Jolly Beggars, who frequented Poosie Nansie's inn and appeared as main characters in his poems of that time, lie in the town cemetery.