Kinneil House

This partial ruin includes the original house (1550) and the adjoining wing which was the palace (1553). In 1936, when the palace was about to be demolished, mural paintings dating from the 16 and 17C were discovered. The ribbed vault of the Arbour Room has a flower pattern and medallions partly covered by paint applied in 1621-1624. One of the outbuildings was where James Watt (1736-1819) carried out his experiments with steam engines.

Useful information

Address:

Dean, EH51 OPR Bo' Ness

Phone:

+44 1506 778530

Price:

free of charge

Opening hours

12.30pm-4pm - closed Sun and Mon

Nearby tourist attractions

Bo'ness and Museum of Scottish Railways
Bo'ness and Museum of Scottish Railways
Bo' Ness
Linlithgow Palace Linlithgow Palace
Linlithgow Palace
Linlithgow
1:30
St Michael's Church St Michael's Church
St Michael's Church
Linlithgow
0:15
High Street
High Street
Linlithgow
0:15
The Cross The Cross
The Cross
Linlithgow
0:15
Back Causeway Back Causeway
Back Causeway
Culross
0:15
See all tourist sites