Aberdour Castle

Interesting
The principal residence of the Earls of Morton since 1642, the castle was abandoned in favour of Aberdour House in 1725. The present castle has a primitive, 14C tower, the upper part of which was rebuilt in the 15C. The land south of the castle was laid out in terraces, behind which were a dovecote and an orchard. The 16C terraced gardens have been restored.

Useful information

Address:

A 921, KY3 0SL Aberdour

Phone:

+44 1383 860519

Price:

6 £ (children 3.60 £)

Opening hours

Apr-Sep: 9.30am-5.30pm; rest of year: daily except Thu-Fri 10am-4pm - closed 25-26 Dec, 1-2 Jan

Nearby tourist attractions

St Fillans's Parish Church St Fillans's Parish Church
St Fillans's Parish Church
Aberdour
0:15
Deep Sea World
Deep Sea World
North Queensferry
1:00
Forth Bridges Forth Bridges
Forth Bridges
South Queensferry
0:30
Forth Rail Bridge Forth Rail Bridge
Forth Rail Bridge
South Queensferry
0:30
Hawes Inn Hawes Inn
Hawes Inn
South Queensferry
0:15
St Cuthbert's Church
St Cuthbert's Church
Dalmeny
0:15
See all tourist sites