Built between 1597 and 1611 by George Bruce, an entrepreneurial merchant, the Palace is both a monument to the times (the reign of Jacques VI) and to a man. Despite the foreign origin of many of the materials used (tiles, Baltic pines, Dutch tiles, glass), the buildings are a superb example of domestic architecture of the 16C and 17C. The rooms are small, pine-panelled for insulation, and offer interesting examples of typical decorative painting of the time.
Address:West Green, KY12 8JH Culross
Phone:+44 1383 880359
Price:10.50 £ (children 7.50 £)
palace: Jul-Aug: 11am-5pm; week Easter: 10am-5pm; Jun: Wed-Mon 11am-5pm; mid Apr-end May and Sep: Sat-Mon 11am-5pm; Oct: Sat-Mon 11am-4pm; closed rest of year - garden: Mon-Fri 10am-4pm, weekends 11am-5pm (closed weekends Nov-Mar)
See all tourist sites