St Nicholas Buccleuch Church

Made a collegiate church in 1406, James Douglas, 1st Earl of Morton, enlarged it in 1477 and probably built the Scottish late-Gothic style chancel. Work on the chevet stopped in 1590 and the nave and transept remodelled in the mid-19C. The 16C Morton Monument, in memory of James Douglas and his wife, is located in the roofless choir. The effigies of the couple, worn smooth with the passage of time, show them in rich costume with lions at their feet.

Useful information

Address:

High Street, EH22 1AX Dalkeith

Phone:

+44 131 663 3036

Opening hours

Apr-Oct: daily except Sun 10am-4pm - rest of year: by appointment

Nearby tourist attractions

St Mary's Chapel
St Mary's Chapel
Dalkeith
0:15
Dalkeith Country Park
Dalkeith Country Park
Dalkeith
0:30
Newbattle Abbey
Newbattle Abbey
Dalkeith
0:15
Butterfly and Insect World
Butterfly and Insect World
Lasswade
1:00
National Mining Museum Scotland
National Mining Museum Scotland
Newtongrange
1:00
Craigmillar Castle Craigmillar Castle
Craigmillar Castle
Edinburgh
1:00
See all tourist sites