Pluscarden Abbey, a priory founded in 1230, which became an abbey in 1974, stands in a very rural valley. It has housed a Benedictine community since 1948. Visitors can see the restoration work already completed - the chancel, transept and monastic buildings - and enjoy the peace and quiet of the place.
Address:IV30 8UA Elgin
4.30am-8.30pm - Guided tour available by appointment