This small but long town has a rich historic past. From favourite hunting seat in the 11C, it became the chief burgh of the important earldom of Strathearn. The town was destroyed in 1715. Not far to the northwest is Tullibardine Chapel, a beautiful red sandstone church surrounded by gnarled trees. It is a good example of late-Gothic Scots architecture, with rusticated stonework, armorial embellishments and crow-stepped gables. Nearby is the exclusive Gleneagles Hotel.