This rural panorama, typical of the Borders, takes in, from the right, the Tweed Valley, with Melrose and Galashiels, the Eildon Hills, whose slopes descend to Newtown St Boswells, then Minto, Rubers and Black Laws. In the foreground stands Bemersyde House: it was given to Count Haig, now buried at Dryburgh Abbey, by the grateful nation in 1921. The original site of the Cistercian colony, Old Melrose, is located on the meander of the Tweed.
Address:B6361, TD6 Melrose
See all tourist sites