Crossraguel Abbey

Only ruins remain of the second Cluniac monastery in Scotland, a brother monastery to Paisley Abbey founded by Duncan, Earl of Carrick in 1244. The abbey reached the height of its prosperity in the 15C when a great rebuilding programme was undertaken to repair damage during the Scottish War of Independence. The extensive ruins stand around several courtyards.

Useful information

Address:

A77, KA19 8HQ Maybole

Phone:

+44 1655 883113

Price:

4 £ (-14 years old free of charge)

Opening hours

[Apr-Sep: 9.30am-5.30pm]

Nearby tourist attractions

Culzean Castle Culzean Castle
Culzean Castle
Maybole
1:00