Mar's Wark

Ruined but nevertheless impressive, the façade is all that is left of a palace started but never completed in 1570 for John Erskine (1510-1572), 1st Earl of Mar who, as Hereditary Keeper of the castle and guardian of Prince James, needed a private residence in the area. The stones came from Cambuskenneth Abbey. The façade giving onto the street has a decorative sculpture and heraldic panels.

Useful information

Address:

Broad Street, FK7 Stirling

Nearby tourist attractions

Cowane's Hospital
Cowane's Hospital
Stirling
0:15
Church of the Holy Rude
Church of the Holy Rude
Stirling
0:15
Broad Street
Broad Street
Stirling
0:15
Stirling Castle Stirling Castle
Stirling Castle
Stirling
1:30
Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders Regimental Museum
Argyll and Sutherland Highlanders Regimental Museum
Stirling
1:30
Argyll's Lodging
Argyll's Lodging
Stirling
0:15
See all