Construction of the castle was carried out by the king's master mason James of St George (1235-1308) for representatives of the English crown. Its walls are decorated with bands of coloured stone and polygonal towers which took their inspiration from Constantinople. In 1911 it was the setting for the investiture of the Prince of Wales, the future Edward VIII. Grandiose in design, the castle is home to the Royal Welch Fusiliers Museum and two historical exhibitions.
Address:Castle Hill, LL55 2AY Caernarfon
Price:7.95 £ (-15 years old 5.60 £)
Mar-Jun and Sep-Oct: 9.30am-5pm; Jul-Aug 9.30am-6pm; Nov-Feb: 10am-4pm, Sun 11am-4pm, last admission 30min before closing - closed 24-26 Dec and 1 Jan