Llanfair-Pwllgwyngyll

Llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwllllantysiliogogogoch: the true name of this village means "St Mary's Church in a hollow of white hazel trees near a rapid stream not far from the red cave near St Tysilio's Church" (usually abbreviated to Llanfair PG). Tourists flock to the train station and visitor centre here to have their photos taken with the sign. On a nearby hill, a column and a statue have been erected in memory of W.H. Paget, the first Marquis of Anglesey (1768-1854).

Useful information

Address:

Llanfair-Pwllgwyngyll

Nearby tourist attractions

Plas Newydd
Plas Newydd
Llanfair-Pwllgwyngyll
1:30
Penrhyn Castle
Penrhyn Castle
Bangor
1:30
Beaumaris Castle Beaumaris Castle
Beaumaris Castle
Beaumaris
1:00
St Nicholas' Church
St Nicholas' Church
Beaumaris
0:15
Oriel Ynis Môn
Oriel Ynis Môn
Llangefni
See all