A good part of the castle visible today dates from the late 13C/early 14C. However, the most surprising section is the north wing, which was begun in around 1558 by Sir John Perrot, supposed son of Henry VIII and Mary Berkeley. The superb Elizabethan architecture, its rows of high mullioned windows reflected in the mill pond, gives an impression of the elegance of the period.
Address:A477, SA70 8SL Carew
Price:5 £ (children 3.50 £)
Apr-Oct: 10am-5pm; rest of year: Mon-Fri 11am-3pm - last admission 30min before closing