St Nicholas' Church

The pillars in the late-12C nave are part of the original structure erected by Jean de Courcy. After a number of eventful centuries, the church was restored in 1614. The bell tower, built in 1778, was restored in 1932. The praying figures of Sir Arthur Chichester, governor of Carrickfergus, his wife and their son make up an elegant marble and alabaster monument in the left arm of the transept. The stained-glass windows in the southern side and the western end of the nave are from the 16C.

Useful information

Address:

3 Market Place, BT38 7AB Carrickfergus

Nearby tourist attractions

Northern gate and city walls
Northern gate and city walls
Carrickfergus
0:30
Carrickfergus Castle Carrickfergus Castle
Carrickfergus Castle
Carrickfergus
1:30
Ulster Folk & Transport Museum Ulster Folk & Transport Museum
Ulster Folk & Transport Museum
Cultra
2:00
Crawfordsburn Country Park
Crawfordsburn Country Park
Helen's Bay
4:00
Glenoe Waterfall Glenoe Waterfall
Glenoe Waterfall
Glenoe
0:15