Grounds dominating Strangford Lough provide the superb setting for this residence, built from 1760 to 1775 by the Ward family. It is a unique architectural compromise between the classical and the so-called Gothic Revival "Strawberry Hill" styles. The intimist interior, which mingles aristocratic luxury with British kitsch, bears witness to this clash of styles and features work by 19C English artists. The lovely summer pavilion in the ground overlooks a water feature.
Phone:+44 28 4488 1204
castle: Jun-Aug 1pm-6pm; Apr-May and Sep-Oct weekends and Bank Hols 1pm-6pm. Gardens: May-Sep 10am-8pm; Oct-Apr 10am-4pm