Grounds dominating Strangford Lough provide the superb setting for this residence, built from 1760 to 1775 by the Ward family. It is a unique architectural compromise between the classical and the so-called Gothic Revival "Strawberry Hill" styles. The intimist interior, which mingles aristocratic luxury with British kitsch, bears witness to this clash of styles and features work by 19C English artists. The lovely summer pavilion in the ground overlooks a water feature.
Address:A 25 Strangford
Phone:+44 28 4488 1204
castle: noon-6pm; Apr-May and Sep-Oct noon-5pm. Gardens: May-Sep 10am-8pm; Oct-Apr 10am-6pm
See all tourist sites