Just near the pier, the Lower Church (Teampull Mór) was built in 1225 and enlarged later. A lodging for the canons was added on the north side and a funerary chapel on the south side for the Maguires of Tempo, whose coats of arms appear near the entrance and the eastern wall. The oldest tombstone is a large and wide stone decorated in the south-eastern corner with a cross with two branches.
Address:BT7 Devenish Island
See all tourist sites