Bonamargy Friary

The ruins of the Franciscan friary, built near a river in around 1500, are now in the middle of the Ballycastle golf course. Still visible are thegatehouse andchurch which was lit by an impressive bay window on the East side. TheMcDonnell vaulted ceiling was added on the south side of the altar in 1621 but was probably subsequently modified. Theeast aisle has two storeys, linked by a flight of steps set into the thickness of the wall.

Useful information

Address:

BT54 Ballycastle

Nearby tourist attractions

Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge
Carrick-a-Rede Rope Bridge
Ballintoy
1:00
See all