This manor house, the official residence of the Seigneur of Sark, stands on the site of a 6C monastery. Construction began in 1565 and major extension works were undertaken in 1730 by the Le Pelley family, head of the island at that time. The square tower (1860) provides fine views over the archipelago. The fine house built of granite and stone is sheltered from the wind by a buffer of trees and imposing walls. Lush gardens with a brick and stone dovecote.