Fortress of Louisbourg
In the early 18C, this former fortress defended the Gulf of St Lawrence and Quebec and was manned by the largest garrison in North America, making it one of the major strongholds of New France, before the English destroyed it in 1758. It was little more than a pile of ruins for two centuries, until the Canadian government decided to salvage and restore the site, resulting in a renovation project of stunning proportions.
Address:259 Park Service Rd., B1C 2L2 Louisbourg
mid May - end Oct: 9.30am-5pm; rest of year: daily except weekends 9am-4pm