Built in 1827 by Colonel By, the Old Commissariat Building stands alongside the locks and was once used as a military warehouse and treasury. It is now home to the Bytown museum, which houses an exhibition on the construction of the canal.
Address:1 Canal Lane Ottawa
Jan by appointment; early Feb-mid May: Thu-Mon 11am-4pm; 3rd week May- 1st week Oct: daily 10am-5pm (Thu 8pm); end Jun-early Sep: daily 10am-7pm (Thu 8pm) 10am-5pm; rest of year: 11am-4pm - closed 23 Dec- 1 Jan
See all tourist sites