The East Block was built in 1865 by Strent and Laver. Some of the offices have been authentically furnished to reflect their former occupants: Prime Minister Sir John A. Macdonald; his Quebec colleague and fellow Father of Confederation Sir George-Étienne Cartier; the governor general, Lord Dufferin; and the Privy Council. In summer students roleplay these historical figures to enliven the visit.
Address:Parliament Hill, K1A 0A9 Ottawa
2 Jul-early Sep: 10am-5.15pm
See all tourist sites