In the heart of historic Quebec, Château Frontenac was named after Louis de Buade, Comte de Frontenac and governor of New France (17C). In 1880, as part of the numerous improvements to the city planned by Lord Dufferin, it was decided to build a luxury hotel on the site of the former Château Haldimand. Also referred to as the "Old Castle", Château Haldimand was originally built in 1786 for Governor Frederick Haldimand and housed the administrative services and reception rooms of the colonial government.
Address:1 rue des Carrières, G1R 4P5 Québec
closed to visitors, free access to hall
See all tourist sites