Built and donated to the city of Boston in 1742 by the merchant Peter Faneuil (pronounced FAN-yul), this revered landmark was enlarged by preeminent Boston architect Charles Bulfinch in 1806. It was called "the cradle of liberty" because of the protests against British policy voiced in its second-floor Great Hall (accessible via the grand staircase facing Quincy Market). The hall is the cornerstone of the redeveloped Faneuil Hall Marketplace, known as Quincy Market.
Address:Dock Square, 02109 Boston
[9am-5pm - closed 1 Jan, Thanksgiving Day, 25 Dec and during some local events]