Hammond Castle Museum
Inspired by castles built in the Middle Ages, this stone castle was completed in 1929 by the eccentric inventor John Hays Hammond, Jr. On one side, twin towers rise 80ft above terraced gardens, a drawbridge and an enclosed exercise yard that Hammond built for his 18 cats. Below the opposite towers lie the treacherous rocks of Norman's Woe, the setting for Longfellow's poem The Wreck of the Hesperus. The interior contains Hammond's collection of medieval furnishings, paintings and sculpture. The Great Hall houses an 8,200-pipe organ that Hammond constructed over a period of 20 years.