Capitol

Recommended
Originally completed in 1705, the colony's capitol ws destroyed by fire in 1747, rebuilt in 1753 and destroyed again in 1832. The current reconstruction faithfully depicts the first building in its layout and distinctive rounde walls. The two-story structure's H shape symbolizes the bicameral system of British colonial government, with the elected burgesses housed on the sparely decorated east side of the building and the royal governor and his council of 13 appointed men on the lavishly decorated west side. Most famous of the re-created capitol chambers is the Hall of the House of Burgesses, scene of inflammatory speeches by patriotic firebrand Patrick Henry.

Useful information

Address:

East end of Duke of Gloucester Street Williamsburg

Opening hours

guided tour only.

Nearby tourist attractions

Raleigh Tavern
Raleigh Tavern
Williamsburg
DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum
DeWitt Wallace Decorative Arts Museum
Williamsburg
2:00
Courthouse of Colonial Williamsburg
Courthouse of Colonial Williamsburg
Williamsburg
Governor's Palace Governor's Palace
Governor's Palace
Williamsburg
1:30
Bruton Parish Church
Bruton Parish Church
Williamsburg
0:15
George Wythe House
George Wythe House
Williamsburg
0:15
See all