This site was begun by the Whatcom County Settlers Association, founded in 1895 and devoted to celebrating the pioneer past. In 1930, the association moved the first 19C building to the site. Since then 13 more log structures have been acquired, and the park has been deeded to the City of Ferndale. The buildings, dating from the 1870s-90s, include homes, a church, granary, barn, post office, jail, inn and schoolhouse. During summer months, guided tours are given by costumed interpreters.