Sol Duc Hot Springs
The sulphurous smell emanating from these naturally occurring hot springs on the Sol Duc River caused the Quileute Indians to call them si'bi', or "stinky place." After Theodore Moritz staked a claim to the hot springs in the 1880s, settlers began arriving for therapeutic soaks in hand-hewn cedar-log tubs. By 1912 an elegant hotel/sanitorium with landscaped grounds and beds for 100 patients had opened, but it burned down four years later. Today visitors may swim in a large open pool or soak in one of three smaller mineral-water pools. The site also features a rustic lodge and restaurant. Well-graveled .8mi Sol Duc Falls Trail winds through an old-growth forest of hemlock and Douglas fir to lovely Sol Duc Falls.